Highlighter Stash

A quick google of strobing, will tell you that its the new cool trend thats hastily replaced highlighting. To be perfectly honest saying this is something new is a bit ridiculous, its simply highlighting which most of us have been doing for yonks. Its simply contouring without the the dark shades, and is in no way revolutionary in my opinion. However I’ve always been partial to a little bit of highlight to give a healthy glow and to pick out those high points of the face.

IMG_3560  IMG_3566

Swatches from left to right, High Beam, MUA Undress Your Skin, Soap and Glory Glow All Out, Sleek Face Form

I’ve got  a few different highlighter I turn to when I want a bit of glow depending on the effect I’m after. For a full on sheeny look I love a bit of Benefit’s High Beam, this liquid highlighter blends into skin so easily and gives an intense super model glow. If I really want to glow all over I’ll mix just a little of this into my foundation for that lit from within glow. For a budget highlighter MUA’s Undress Your Skin highlighter is a great pick, its only £3 and gives a nice soft glow. This powder can sit in pores a little, so if you have a lot of visible pores it might be one to avoid, but the golden pink glow looks beautiful gently dusted on. Soap and Glory’s Glow All out if my favourite for a more subtle approach, this one has a lot less shimmer than the others and has a definite pink tone too it. I generally dust this all over very lightly and it doubles as an all over glow giver and a setting powder, much like the Hourglass ambient lighting powders. My go to favourite though, has to be the highlighter in my Sleek Face Form palette, this highlighter sits perfectly between champagne and pink for my skin tone and gives just the right amount of shimmer. No matter how much I put on this powder never looks heavy or overly sheeny, just gives a perfect glow.

So thats a little round up of my highlighter collection, a few different bits in there, but they mainly sit around the pink, soft glow which I love. Have you tried strobing? What do you think of it? Whats your favourite summer highlighter?

Abi x

10 thoughts on “Highlighter Stash

  1. Just in time – I need a new highlighter. Currently using Revlon highlight palette in Peach Glow which is pretty decent but I only use the two lighest shades.
    The MUA highlight looks great. .not sure if we get it here in Aus though.
    You picked some great options 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment